5 Things to Un-Learn From School

You spent a lot of time getting an education. But if you want to make it as an entrepreneur, it’s time to forget some of what you learned.

FINAL-Kindergarten-logo-2006-1ozfr0vYou spent a lot of years in school. You learned a lot.

Some of what you learned you need to un-learn as soon as possible. Here are five key attitudes you should adopt instead:

 

 

 

1. If you only do what you’re told, you’ll excel.

I know. School was hard.  But not that hard.

If you did what you were told–go to class, do the reading, turn in assignments on time, etc.–you could get As. Initiative was not required and, in fact, was often frowned on.

Now–whether you work for someone else or run your own business–doing what you’re told makes you average. Not superior, not excellent… just average.

To be above average, or to achieve better than average results, you must do two things:

  1. Do what others are willing to do, and do it better, and
  2. Do what others aren’t willing to do

Otherwise, you’re just average.

2. Being micro-managed is to be expected.

Sure, you felt overly-controlled in school: Dates, timelines, rules… not to mention the seemingly arbitrary policies and nonsensical assignments. You saw graduation as the day you would finally have more freedom.

Nope.

In school you paid people to criticize, direct, and at times micro-manage you. Now you’re the one getting paid… yet you somehow don’t feel it’s fair that investors, partners, or customers can dictate what you do, sometimes down to the smallest detail?

Don’t expect someone to trust you to perform a task or service–and give you money to perform that service–until you’ve proven you can be trusted to perform that service.

Then, once you’ve proven your skills, if you still feel micro-managed it’s your responsibility to change the situation. Communicate before you are communicated to. Answer questions before questions are asked. Demonstrate your value before you are asked to prove your value.

No one wants to micro-manage you. They have better things to do with their time.

If you’re being micro-managed it’s probably because you need to be.

3. Your time off is the highlight of the year.

You may have forgotten your mom’s birthday, but I’ll bet you knew the exact day every semester ended and the start and end of Spring Break. And you lived for snow days.

So it only makes sense to see weekends and vacations as the highlight of your working year, right?

Actually, no: If you feel you endure the workweek just to get to the payoff of the weekend, you’re in the wrong business. Find work you enjoy; then you won’t see time off as a chance to finally do something fun but as a chance to do something else fun.

While you’ll never love everything you do in your professional life, you should enjoy the majority of it.

Otherwise you’re not living–you’re just working.

4. Getting criticized means you failed.

Here’s another pay/paid dichotomy. In college you paid professors to critique your work.

So now that you are the one getting paid, why is it unfair for someone–like a customer, investor, or key partner–to critique your work?

It’s not.

When you get negative feedback, see it as an opportunity. Think, “Wow, I didn’t realize I wasn’t doing that right. I didn’t realize I wasn’t doing that as well as I could.”

Criticism is a chance to learn–and this time you’re getting paid to learn.

Never complain when someone pays you to learn.

5. Success is based on toeing the line.

Say you disagreed with a professor’s point of view on a particular point. You may even have been right… but the only way to get an A in the class was to parrot the professor’s take on the subject. Except in rare cases, confirming and following the rules was everything.

In business, conforming only ensures that you will achieve the same results as other people.

If you want to achieve different results you’ll have to think and act differently. Do your homework, think critically, and don’t be afraid to create your own path.

But don’t be different just for the sake of being different. Be different because it’s who you are and what you believe… and because it will get you where you want to go, with your integrity and your sense of self intact

This entry was posted in Entrepreneur, IT Consultant and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to 5 Things to Un-Learn From School

  1. I wanted to construct a message to be able to express gratitude to you for some of the remarkable suggestions you are giving out at this website. My particularly long internet research has finally been compensated with excellent ideas to go over with my family. I would assert that we website visitors actually are undoubtedly endowed to be in a fantastic site with very many marvellous individuals with very helpful plans. I feel really grateful to have seen your entire web pages and look forward to some more entertaining times reading here. Thank you once again for everything.

  2. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  3. I am also commenting to let you know what a cool discovery my cousin’s daughter found reading the blog. She came to find too many pieces, with the inclusion of what it is like to possess an excellent teaching style to have many people very easily master a variety of complex subject areas. You actually exceeded readers’ expected results. I appreciate you for showing such interesting, dependable, revealing as well as fun thoughts on this topic to Ethel.

  4. Well I definitely liked reading it. This tip offered by you is very useful for correct planning.

  5. Hello. excellent job. I did not anticipate this. This is a fantastic story. Thanks!

  6. Randy Baggio says:

    Just want to say your article is as astounding. The clearness in your post is just great and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  7. Hello.This article was really motivating, particularly because I was browsing for thoughts on this matter last Friday.

  8. You made some nice points there. I did a search on the issue and found most people will agree with your website.

  9. I simply wanted to type a small message in order to express gratitude to you for these superb concepts you are giving out on this website. My time-consuming internet lookup has finally been honored with good knowledge to talk about with my family members. I ‘d believe that most of us site visitors actually are extremely endowed to dwell in a really good place with many awesome people with interesting methods. I feel somewhat privileged to have discovered your entire web pages and look forward to many more fabulous minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once again for all the details.

  10. Keep working ,splendid job!

  11. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or tips. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!

  12. Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  13. I really wanted to construct a quick comment to be able to appreciate you for these wonderful solutions you are writing on this website. My incredibly long internet research has at the end been compensated with incredibly good facts and strategies to go over with my neighbours. I would say that we visitors are really blessed to live in a good site with very many brilliant people with very helpful advice. I feel truly grateful to have seen your webpage and look forward to really more enjoyable moments reading here. Thanks a lot once more for all the details.

  14. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  15. I simply had to say thanks all over again. I do not know the things that I would have worked on without the entire basics provided by you concerning such subject. Previously it was a real scary case for me, but encountering this professional approach you managed it made me to leap over joy. I am just thankful for this support and in addition expect you comprehend what a powerful job you have been undertaking educating some other people by way of your webblog. I am sure you have never got to know any of us.

  16. Hello. Great job. I did not imagine this. This is a fantastic story. Thanks!

  17. Darnell Kite says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  18. Awsome site! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also

  19. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  20. I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

  21. I think this is one of the most vital info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  22. Ryan Inda says:

    This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  23. You made a few fine points there. I did a search on the topic and found the majority of persons will agree with your blog.

  24. Simply wish to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is just spectacular and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  25. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable info to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  26. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  27. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  28. We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your website provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

  29. Well I truly liked studying it. This subject procured by you is very practical for correct planning.

  30. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! However, how could we communicate?

  31. I have been reading out a few of your articles and i can state pretty nice stuff. I will definitely bookmark your site.

  32. There is perceptibly a bunch to realize about this. I consider you made various nice points in features also.

  33. Definitely, what a magnificent blog and illuminating posts, I definitely will bookmark your site.Best Regards!

  34. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to improve my website!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  35. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem. You’re amazing! Thanks!

  36. Definitely, what a fantastic blog and informative posts, I surely will bookmark your site.Have an awsome day!

  37. I want to get across my affection for your generosity in support of individuals that really want help with this particular area of interest. Your special commitment to getting the solution all over turned out to be wonderfully helpful and have really helped guys just like me to arrive at their endeavors. Your new informative tutorial means this much a person like me and additionally to my office colleagues. Thanks a lot; from all of us.

  38. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  39. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for great info I was looking for this information for my mission.

  40. Lovely website! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am bookmarking your feeds also

  41. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  42. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  43. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this web site, since I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Well I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

  44. There is noticeably a bundle to realize about this. I suppose you made various good points in features also.

  45. Brice Reker says:

    You are a very clever individual!

  46. Ariel Sayloe says:

    As a Newbie, I am always browsing online for articles that can benefit me. Thank you

  47. Lance Dicara says:

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  48. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  49. You made some nice points there. I looked on the internet for the topic and found most persons will consent with your site.

  50. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  51. Awsome post and right to the point. I don’t know if this is actually the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to employ some professional writers? Thanks 🙂

  52. Javier Stary says:

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  53. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content!

  54. Just desire to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in your post is just great and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

